back to the childhood drawing board

It’s coming down to the last few revisions and touch-ups on Things I Like (working/probable title of the aforementioned children’s book). I re-conceptualized the book a couple months ago because I wasn’t happy with the text. I simplified the content a lot and changed the point of view. It is now being told from the perspective of a child, which I think both adds to the book and makes it more cohesive. I adjusted the type treatment to reflect the new tone.

Here are a couple examples of the new feel:

It is 1990 and I have a mullet.

I was actually violently opposed to having my picture taken with Captain Hook

(click for larger versions as usual)

I have adjusted the type for some of the more heavily illustrated pages as well, but they need to be fine-tuned a bit more. More to come.

Leave a Reply

