it’s done.

Well, the book is done. The Thesis Show went up and went down. I graduated and got my MFA. So now I am simultaneously basking and wallowing in the netherworld that is post-graduate life. It’s going to take me a couple more weeks to fully reboot my productivity and art making ability and probably longer just to adjust to non-school life again, so in the meantime I am organizing, publicizing, and reflecting.

The Thesis Show was well attended and got some nice press. Here are some shots of my work in the gallery:

I count the final product of my thesis work, the short graphic novel A Walk in the Park, as a success. I have always been interested in sequential storytelling — it just took me until last year to muster up the cajones to take something this big on. I plan to write and draw a bunch more stories like this one, along with some really different kinds of comics, including a webcomic, an action (!) comic, and various experiments with narrative and figuration.

I plan to get the book printed and hopefully distributed soon, so stay tuned. In the meantime, here’s a quick anecdote from it.

Comments are closed.